Sergei A. Khrapak

60 seconds with authors

Sergei A. Khrapak


Max-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physik, Garching, Germany



What led you into science and your chosen area of research?

I was diploma student at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology in the middle 1990 when a paper by H. Thomas et al. from the Max-Planck-Institute in Garching came to my attention. In this paper plasma crystals ordered systems of strongly interacting particles in plasmas have been for the first time observed experimentally. I was so amazed by the beauty of these systems that I changed the direction of my scientific activities and started my diploma work at the Institute for High Temperatures where investigations in the field of dusty (complex) plasmas had just began. Since then I am involved in this field.


Can you describe the results in your paper and their importance for your field?

In short, this is a comprehensive review of the field of dusty (complex) plasmas. It covers most important directions of experimental and theoretical research, including basic processes (particle charging, interactions, forces that the particles experience in plasmas), phase transitions and self-organization, transport and wave properties, as well as some new emerging directions. The content was carefully chosen in order to represent most important achievements in the field. Remarkably, most of the material is not outdated yet, even though the field is still growing very rapidly. Finally, the paper is accessible not only to specialists, but also to the beginners in the field.


What research projects are you working on at the moment?

At the moment my interests are merely focused on basic plasma-dust interactions, which include particle charging, interactions between charged particles, as well as interactions between the particles and surrounding plasma. Another interesting project is related to the possible existence of liquid-vapor critical point in complex plasmas, a prediction that we have made recently on the basis of qualitative similarities in interparticle interactions as compared to conventional liquids and gases. I also provide some theoretical support for a joint Russian-German experimental project Plasma Crystal operational onboard the International Space Station. This experiment aims to investigate complex plasmas in microgravity conditions on the most fundamental kinetic level.


What do you think will be the next big breakthrough in your field?

It is not easy to say. The field is relatively new, rapidly developing, and interdisciplinary. A few directions of great potential impact include study of phase transitions at the individual particle level, possibility to design the interparticle interaction potential, investigation of critical phenomena, microgravity experiments.


What book are you reading right now?

Right now I am reading a book by George Mikes containing How to be an alien and Shakespeare and myself.


If you could have dinner with any 3 people, past or present, who would they be and why?

Isaak Newton, Albert Einstein, and Niels Bohr seem to be an interesting choice to discuss progresses in physics.


What has been the most exciting moment in your career so far?

Receiving a young researcher medal for outstanding contribution to the understanding of dust-plasma interactions during the International Conference on the Physics of Dusty Plasmas in Orleans (2005). This was a great pleasure and honor.


What would you like to say in connection with the 90th anniversary of Uspekhi Fizicheskikh Nauk journal?

Physics-Uspekhi is certainly the most successful Russian physical journal in the new Sanctuary. This can be judged not only by the high impact factor, but also by the broad coverage of the material, and quality of the papers. I can only wish to retain this position. As an author I promise to contribute by all forces to that.

90
© 1918–2020 Uspekhi Fizicheskikh Nauk
Email: ufn@ufn.ru Editorial office contacts About the journal Terms and conditions

Сергей Алексеевич Храпак

60 секунд: авторы УФН о науке, о себе и о жизни

Сергей Алексеевич Храпак


Max-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physik, Garching, Germany



Что привело Вас в науку (именно в Вашу область исследований)?

В середине 1990-х, когда я заканчивал Московский физико-технический институт, в поле зрения попала работа Х. Томаса и др. (Институт им. Макса Планка в Гархинге), в которой был впервые экспериментально обнаружен “плазменный кристалл” – упорядоченная система заряженных сильновзаимодействующих частиц в плазме. Эта система настолько восхитила своей красотой, что я сменил область исследований и начал делать дипломную работу в Институте высоких температур, где тогда тоже начало развиваться это направление. С тех пор я и занимаюсь изучением свойств пылевой плазмы.


Не могли бы Вы кратко описать основные результаты Вашей статьи и их значение для Вашей области исследований?

Кратко, — это достаточно полный обзор сотояния области физики пылевой (или комплексной) плазмы. Он охватывает наиболее важные направления экспериментальных и теоретических исследований, включая основные элементарные процессы (такие, как зарядка частиц, взаимодействия между частицами и плазмой, межчастичные взаимодействия, силы, действующие на частицы в плазме), самоорганизацию и фазовые переходы, транспорт, волновые свойства, а также некоторые перспективные направления будущих исследований. Материал был тщательно отобран с тем, чтобы представить наиболее значительные достижения в области. Отмечу, что бóльшая часть материала до сих пор не устарела, несмотря на то, что область физики пылевой плазмы развивается очень быстро. Наконец, статья доступна не только специалистам, но и новичкам в данной области.


Над какими исследовательскими проектами Вы сейчас работаете?

В настоящий момент мои интересы, в основном, сфокусированы на основах плазменно-пылевых взаимодействий, включая зарядку частиц, взаимодействие между ними, их взаимодействие с окружающей плазмой. Другой интересный проект связан с возможным существованием фазового перехода газ–жидкость и критической точки в пылевой плазме, которые мы предсказали исходя из качественной схожести взаимодействия в пылевой плазме по сравнению с обычными газами и жидкостями. Я также занят теоретической поддержкой совместного российско-немецкого проекта “Плазменный кристалл” функционирующего на борту Международной космической станции. Основной задачей этого эксперимента является исследование пылевой плазмы в условиях микрогравитации на кинетическом уровне (т.е. на уровне индивидуальных частиц).


В чем по Вашему мнению будет следующий серьезный прорыв в Вашей области исследований?

На этот вопрос не просто ответить. Область пылевой плазмы относительно нова, междисциплинарна, очень быстро развивается. К направлениям с большим потенциалом я бы причислил изучение фазовых переходов на уровне индивидуальных частиц, возможность управления межчастичным потенциалом, кинетическое изучение поведения вблизи критической точки, и эксперименты в условиях микрогравитации.


Какие книги Вы сейчас читаете?

Сейчас читаю Джорджа Микеша “Как быть иностранцем” и “Шекспир и я”.


Если бы Вы могли пообедать с любыми тремя персонами (как прошлого, так и настоящего), кого Вы хотели видеть на этом обеде и почему?

Исаак Ньютон, Альберт Эйнштейн и Нильс Бор были бы, возможно, неплохим выбором для обсуждения развития физики.


Какой был наиболее значительный (волнующий) момент в Вашей карьере?

Получение медали за выдающийся вклад в понимание плазменно-пылевых взаимодействий во время Международной конференции по физике пылевой плазмы в Орлеане (2005 г.). Это, конечно, было очень приятно и почетно.


Что хотели бы Вы сказать в связи с 90-летием журнала “Успехи физических наук”?

УФН является, безусловно, самым успешным Российским физическим журналом в новом столетии. Об этом можно судить не только по индексу цитирования, но и по широте охвата материала и качеству статей. Поэтому остается только пожелать удерживать эти позиции. Я, как автор, со своей стороны обещаю всеми силами этому способствовать.

90 лет освещая успехи физики
© Успехи физических наук, 1918–2017
Электронная почта: ufn@ufn.ru Телефоны и адреса редакции О журнале Пользовательское соглашение